Independent Prison Monitoring Advisory Group

What is the Independent Prison Monitoring Advisory Group?

The Independent Prison Monitoring Advisory Group was established in 2015.  It is a group including experts in prisons, human rights and related fields, Independent Prison Monitors, Prison Monitoring Coordinators and HM Inspector of Prisons for Scotland.

Current members of the Advisory Group are:

Members as specified in the Order:

Wendy Sinclair-Gieben, HM Chief Inspector of Prisons

Stephen Sandham, Deputy Chief Inspector of Prisons

Chris Johnston, Regional Prison Monitoring Coordinator 

Kerry Brooks, Regional Prison Monitoring Coordinator 

Chris Collins, Regional Prison Monitoring Coordinator 

Ewan Mackenzie, Regional Prison Monitoring Coordinator

Independent Prison Monitors:

Fiona Govan, IPM at HMP Greenock.  Fiona leads on research, development and training for the Scottish Criminal Cases Review Commission.  She was previously involved in supporting the Children’s Hearings System as a  Panel Member.

Hugh McGloin, IPM at HMP Low Moss.  Hugh has considerable experience of monitoring places of detention.  In addition to his previous role as a member of the Visiting Committee at HMP Low Moss, he is a member of the the IMB Glasgow, Edinburgh and Larne Board (UK Independent Monitoring Board), monitoring short-term immigration detention facilities.  Hugh’s background is in the public sector, particularly in learning and education settings.  He has served as an Assessor with HMIE.

Muriel Mowat, IPM at HMYOI Polmont.  Muriel has particular expertise in development and good practice around independent advocacy in health and social care settings.  Her work has included providing training for the implementation of the Social Care (Self-directed Support) (Scotland) Act 2013 and preparing evidence on advocacy for Parliamentary Committees. 

Marilyn Stenhouse,  IPM at HMP & YOI Cornton Vale.  Marilyn is a COSCA-qualified counsellor with many years’ experience in the Children’s Hearings System, including as a Panel Member, Chair and Trainer.  She was involved in the Visiting Committee at Cornton Vale for over 10 years. She is also a Church Elder and Board Member.  

Additional members:

Alan Mitchell, Chair of the Advisory Group.  Alan is a member of the Scottish Human Rights Commission.  He has a background in General Medical Practice and is currently Clinical Director of the East Renfrewshire Community Health and Care Partnership.  Since 2002 Alan has been engaged as an expert by the European Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CPT).  Alan was also previously Head of Healthcare within the Scottish Prison Service

Sheriff Katherine Mackie is a retired Sheriff. She is also a a Board Advisor to Community Justice Scotland and a member of the Howard League Scotland.

David Croft.  David was formerly Deputy Director of Prisons for the Scottish Prison Service and formerly the Governor of HMP Edinburgh. 

Dan Gunn.  Dan was formerly Director of Operations for the Scottish Prison Service. He has 38 years’ experience of working in and around prisons.  Dan is the Vice Chair of the Scottish Association for the Study of Offending. 

Anne Hawkins.  Anne was formerly the Director of Glasgow City Community Health Partnership. Anne worked in the NHS for over 35 years and for many years managed Mental Health services. She chaired the National Prison Healthcare Network supporting the transfer of prison healthcare to the NHS.

Jim McManus.  Jim currently represents the UK on the European Committee for the Prevention of Torture.  He was formerly a Professor of Criminal Justice and Glasgow Caledonian University and previously Chairman of the Parole Board for Scotland. 

Pete White.  Pete is the founder and Chief Executive of Positive Prisons? Positive Futures, a charity which seeks to share lived experience of people in the criminal justice system in order to improve the effectiveness of justice in Scotland.

What is the group’s remit?

The role of the Advisory Group is set out in the Public Services Reform (Inspection and Monitoring of Prisons) (Scotland) Order 2014, which specifies that HM Chief Inspector of Prisons for Scotland must establish a Prison Monitoring Advisory Group.

The Group ensures the continued independence of Independent Prison Monitors and supports the development and improvement of prison monitoring in Scotland. Its key functions are to:

  • Keep the effectiveness of prison monitoring under review;
  • Contribute to and review the guidance for prison monitoring;
  • Review training for Independent Prison Monitors; and
  • Make recommendations for improvement.

How often does the group meet?

The group meets on a quarterly basis. 

Getting in touch

If you would like to find out more about the Independent Prison Monitoring Advisory Group, please contact HM Inspectorate of Prisons on 0131 244 1844 or email .  You can also write to the Advisory Group at this address:

Independent Prison Monitoring Advisory Group

HM Inspectorate of Prisons for Scotland

Y1 Spur, Saughton House

Broomhouse Drive

Edinburgh EH11 3XD